top of page
engaged!.png
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon

Gluten Free Sugar Cookies


New year, new post! Welcome to the first post of 2019!!

I've been craving sugar cookies for at least 3 days but I wanted to find a recipe that was gluten free so it didn't upset my stomach as well as didn't take flipping 2 hours to chill in the fridge because I'm too impatient for that mess. Seeing as it was New Years Eve last night and I had all night to do something with my time, I finally got around to making these absolutely delicious gluten free and eggless sugar cookies.

This recipe was inspired by Evolving Table's Gluten Free Cut Out Sugar Cookie recipe. Go check out the original: https://www.evolvingtable.com/cut-out-sugar-cookies-dont-spread/

Here is my sugar cookie adventure bringing in the new year!

I'm a rebel when it comes to cooking and baking as some of you may know. I pretty much do whatever I want and how I want. I changed the original recipe a decent amount to make it eggless and dairy free. I decided to go this route because I wanted this recipe to be as stomach friendly as possible. Due to the holidays, I've been neglecting my diet and eating whatever I please (because come on now... holiday foods..). This has resulted in many days of feeling like crap. I'm tired of those days so I've been doing everything I can to make my meals and desserts as belly friendly as possible for the past couple of days.

I had a lot of fun making these cookies and I was my first time ever making cut out sugar cookies that held their shape and being able to frost them. My only issue with the recipe was that my dough was dry, mostly due to my hand mixer over a stand mixer, and I'm not sure if it was this fact that made my cookies fragile or the gluten free flour that I used instead of using the flour mixture in the original recipe. If your dough is fragile, just take extra care to transfer the cut cookies from the work space to the cookie sheet.

Because the dough is eggless, I was really happy that I was safely able to eat the raw cookie dough that I had left over after cutting out my 24 cookies. Even though, I like to live dangerously and eat cookie dough anyways, I don't have to worry about salmonella with this recipe and that's a plus.

The colored frosting recipe is also eggless because I just wanted to see how it would turn out and I'm really pleased with the results. As stated in the recipe for the frosting, I will end up using way less powdered sugar the next time I make this recipe so if you're like me and find that the amount of sugar called for is a lot, then I'd say you could taste test it as you go so you don't get a frosting this is too sweet for your liking.

I had a lot of fun decorating the cookies but it was so time consuming to make them this pretty so props to the original recipe writer who decorated her snowflake cookies because they were absolutely gorgeous. Now, here's the catch: you don't have to make royal icing if you don't want to. I wanted to make an icing that was more firm and also white in order to decorate. I've never made royal icing with an egg replacer before and I wasn't sure how it would work so I did end up using 1 actual egg white following the Evolving Table's royal icing recipe in order to make sure that it worked and so that it would be really white. That's literally the only place in my cookies that has an egg white.

If you end up trying this recipe, let me know how they turned out for you in the comments below. I hope you enjoyed this short post and have a happy new year!!

bottom of page